} //if ($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']==''){die('Done');} ?> Bayern secure double with DFB-Pokal victory over Leverkusen

Leverkusen - FC Bayern

Germany: DFB Pokal
Leverkusen S. Bender (63), K. Havertz (Pen. 90)
Olympiastadion BerlinFull time2-4
FC Bayern D. Alaba (16), S. Gnabry (24), R. Lewandowski (59), R. Lewandowski (89)

Bayern secure double with DFB-Pokal victory over Leverkusen

By Rune Gjerulff

Bayern München won the DFB-Pokal for the second year in a row, defeating Bayer Leverkusen 4-2 in the final.

David Alaba.
David Alaba.

Reigning German champions Bayern München secured their 20th DFB-Pokal title and 13th domestic double with a 4-2 victory over Bayer Leverkusen at the Olympiastadion in Berlin on Saturday.

David Alaba opened the scoring for the Bavarians after 16 minutes, curling a free-kick into the top corner.

Eight minutes later, Bayern doubled the lead through Serge Gnabry, who cooly slotted the ball into the bottom corner after he was played in behind by Joshua Kimmich.

After coming on at the break, Kevin Volland missed a great opportunity to score for Leverkusen in the beginning of the second half as he failed to connect with the ball after he was found by Moussa Diaby on the break.

Bayern then went up and increased their lead at the other end. Robert Lewandowski's shot was straight at Lukas Hradecky, but the Finnish goalkeeper spilled the ball into his own net to gift the German champions a third goal just shy of the hour mark.

Four minutes later, Leverkusen pulled one back when Sven Bender planted a header into the net following a corner.

With a few minutes remaining, Robert Lewandowski scored a fourth for Bayern, chipping the ball into the net to increase the lead.

Kai Havertz scored a consolation goal from the penalty spot to make it 2-4 deep into injury time, but it wasn't enough for 'Die Werkself', who couldn't stop Bayern from winning their second DFB-Pokal title in a row.

1L. Hradecky
8L. Bender (C) ↪81
5S. Bender
12E. Tapsoba
20C. Aránguiz
15J. Baumgartlinger ↪46
19M. Diaby
11N. Amiri ↪46
9L. Bailey ↪76
29K. Havertz
28R. Özcan
13L. Alario
31K. Volland ↩46
4J. Tah
6A. Dragović
23M. Weiser ↩81
10K. Demirbay ↩46
27F. Wirtz
38K. Bellarabi ↩76
FC Bayern
1M. Neuer (C)
5B. Pavard
17J. Boateng ↪69
27D. Alaba
19A. Davies
32J. Kimmich
18L. Goretzka
22S. Gnabry ↪87
25T. Müller ↪87
29K. Coman ↪64
9R. Lewandowski
26S. Ulreich
2Á. Odriozola
4N. Süle
21L. Hernández ↩69
6T. Alcântara ↩87
10Philippe Coutinho ↩87
11M. Cuisance
14I. Perišić ↩64
35J. Zirkzee

Bundesliga News

Fantasy Football

Tactics Talk

Editor's picks


Turn back time