Bundesliga News

Bundesliga at the Euros, Day 19

By Jesvin Nellissery

The big one. England vs Germany in front of a 40% capacity Wembley Stadium was the centerpiece game of the final day of the round of 16 for EURO 2020. The winner of that game took on the winner of Sweden vs Ukraine, who played out the final game of the round of 16 stage at Hampden Park.

UEFA Euro 2020
UEFA Euro 2020

Germany knocked out of EURO 2020
Germany crash out of the European Championships following a 2-0 defeat to England. Read the full dedicated match report here


Extra time drama in the round of 16
Another round of 16 tie, another one that required extra time to decide the final ticket to the quarter-finals. 120 minutes were needed to find a winner and the game got a 121st-minute winner as Ukraine knocked out Sweden with the last-gasp game-winner.

Ukraine took the lead after a wonderful cross from former Dortmund man Andriy Yarmolenko was met by Manchester City midfielder Olexandr Zinchenko, but they were pegged back just before half-time when RB Leipzig talisman Emil Forsberg scored again for Sweden, his 4th goal for the Swedes at this tournament with the help of a deflection off Sergey Krivtsov.

The second half didn't add to the scoreline and so extra time was needed to find out who England were playing in Rome on Saturday evening.

The real moment of controversy came when Sweden center-back Marcus Danielson received a yellow card for what looked like a high boot. As the replays slowed the frames down, Danielson got the ball but his follow-through went right through substitute Artem Besedin's right knee. A hyper-extension which did not look good when slowed down by the replay officials. Italian referee Danielle Orsato was urged by the VAR to view the pitchside monitor, and after a couple of glances, the yellow was upgraded to red. Danielson off, Sweden down to 10.

It looked all set for a penalty shootout to decide the final spot in the quarter-finals but in the 121st-minute up stepped substitute Artem Dovbyk, who had only come on in the 2nd half of extra time for captain Yarmolenko. He headed home a pinpoint Zinchenko cross and broke Swedish hearts.


The minutes, then the seconds ticked away, and then jubilation at the final whistle. Ukraine had qualified for their first European Championship quarter-final in their history. Yet more Swedish heartbreak in the knockout stages of a major tournament. Ukraine now look forward to a tie with England in Rome on Saturday night.

Sweden Starting XI: (4-4-2)
Olsen
Lustig - Lindelof - Danielson - Augustinsson
Larsson - Olsson - Ekdal - Forsberg
Kulusevski - Isak

Ukraine Starting XI: (4-3-3)
Bushchan
Karavaev - Zabarnyi - Krivtsov - Matvienko
Sydorchuk - Stepanenko - Zinchenko
Yarmolenko - Yaremchuk - Shaparenko

THE EURO 2020 QUARTER-FINAL LINEUP

Friday 2nd July - Switzerland vs Spain - St. Petersburg - 18:00 CET / 17:00 BST / 12:00 ET

Friday 2nd July - Belgium vs Italy - Munich - 21:00 CET / 20:00 BST / 15:00 ET

Saturday 3rd July - Czech Republic vs Denmark - Baku - 18:00 CET / 17:00 BST / 12:00 ET

Saturday 3rd July - Ukraine vs England - Rome - 21:00 CET / 20:00 BST / 15:00 ET


Related stories

Bundesliga News

Fantasy Football

Tactics Talk

Editor's picks

Profiles

Turn back time

Bundesliga - Frankfurt - FC KölnBundesliga - Gladbach - Dortmund