} //if ($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']==''){die('Done');} ?> Bayern wrap up eighth successive Bundesliga title with win over Werder Bremen

Bremen - FC Bayern

Germany: Bundesliga
Weserstadion Platz 11Full time0-1
FC Bayern R. Lewandowski (43), A. Davies (79)

Bayern wrap up eighth successive Bundesliga title with win over Werder Bremen

By Rune Gjerulff

Bayern München beat Werder Bremen 1-0 to wrap up their 30th Bundesliga title.

Robert Lewandowski.
Robert Lewandowski.

Bayern München secured their eighth consecutive and 30th Bundesliga title with a 1-0 win over Werder Bremen at Weserstadion on Tuesday.

The result leaves the Bavarians 10 points clear of second-placed Borussia Dortmund, who only have nine points left to play for.

Bayern were forced to work hard for their win against a well-organized Werder Bremen side, who kept the guests at bay for most of the first 45 minutes.

Midway through the first half, Bayern could have had a man sent off when Alphonso Davies kicked out at Leonardo Bittencourt, but the Canadian international escaped with a yellow card.

Just a few minutes before the break, the guests found the opener through who else but Robert Lewandowski. The 31-year-old, who made his return from suspension, chested down a long pass from Jerome Boateng and slotted the ball past Jiri Pavlenka before it hit the ground to score his 31th league goal of the season.

Bayern were in control in the second half, dominating possession, but couldn't kill the game off against a hard-working Werder side.

With 79 minutes played, the Bavarians were reduced to 10 men when Alphonso Davies was sent off for his second yellow card. But despite playing with 10 men, Bayern survived a nail-biting end to the game and held on to their 1-0 lead, securing yet another Bundesliga title.

1J. Pavlenka
13M. Veljkovic ↪88
3K. Vogt ↪46
18N. Moisander (C)
23T. Gebre Selassie
35M. Eggestein
30D. Klaassen ↪84
32M. Friedl
10L. Bittencourt ↪62
8Y. Ōsako
7M. Rashica ↪62
27S. Kapino
9D. Selke
11N. Füllkrug ↩84
14C. Pizarro ↩88
19J. Sargent ↩62
15S. Langkamp ↩46
22F. Bartels ↩62
36C. Groß
44P. Bargfrede
FC Bayern
1M. Neuer (C)
5B. Pavard
17J. Boateng
27D. Alaba
19A. Davies
32J. Kimmich
18L. Goretzka
29K. Coman
25T. Müller
22S. Gnabry ↪82
9R. Lewandowski
26S. Ulreich
38O. Wriedt
2Á. Odriozola
21L. Hernández ↩82
11M. Cuisance
28S. Singh
34O. Meier
35J. Zirkzee
41C. Richards

Bundesliga News

Fantasy Football

Tactics Talk

Editor's picks


Turn back time