Eintracht Frankfurt trainer Oliver Glasner leveled criticism at the officiating crew responsible for reffing last night's draw with Bochum during his post-match interview with German broadcaster DAZN and his post-match presser. The SGE gaffer found fault with four specific instances within the match.
|Oliver Glasner.||Photo: Sven Mandel, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0|
In his post-match interview with German broadcaster DAZN and then later as his post-match press conference, Glasner clearly emphasized that there were four specific cases that could have swing the match the other way.
Bochum were able to grab a surprise lead in the 14th off a Christopher Antwi-Adjei throw-in. Antwi-Adjei's throw was extended towards Anthony Lossila via Ivan Ordets. SGE keeper Kevin Trapp saved Losilla's first effort, yet couldn't keep out Takuma Asano's effort off the rebound.
Glasner made certain to criticize his own team for failing to defend a simple set-piece, yet complained that the Osmer's failed to stop Antwi-Adjei from taking the throw from an unfair position. Glasner insisted that Osmer's allowed Antwi-Adjei a "decisive extra five meters".
Frankfurt were able to equalize from the spot in the 22nd after Ordets hauled down Randal Kolo Muani in the penalty area. For Glasner, however, a mere caution for Ordets didn't go nearly far enough. Glasner demanded a red card in such an instance, given that Ordets was "nowhere near the ball".
Osmers, in Glasner's opinion, also failed to issue what should have been a second yellow for Ordets at the hour-mark when the VfL defender came in very late on on Djibril Sow just outside the penalty area. Arguably, there were two instances in which Frankfurt should have gotten a man advantage.
Glasner believed that Antwi-Adjei's arm tug on Aurelio Buta in the 57th should have been ruled a tactical foul. Osmers felt as if the SGE wingback went to ground a bit too easily. Irrespective of this, Glasner insisted that he had a clear view from the touchline and believed the obstruction was undeniable.
A final controversial scene took place in the 83rd. During a direct challenge on Muani, the ball popped up and touched VfL defender Dominique Heint'z hand in the penalty area. After video review, the contact was deemed incidental. Glasner noted that - in his understanding of the rules - the fact that Heinz's arm was above his shoulder meant that a handball penalty should have been called based on the fact that Heintz made his body bigger.
"I thought the angle made a difference," Glasner said at the post-match presser, "I don't know now when this angle applies. 135 degrees, maybe only from 140 - I don't know. You'd have to check the FIFA regulations. It seems to be that the seven referees we had at work today were simply too few."