By Peter Weis@PeterVicey

Di Salvo releases preliminary squad for U21 European Championship

Germany U21 head-coach Antonio di Salvo's preliminary squad for the upcoming European Championship has been released. An initial roster of 26 players is set to be reduced by three in twelve days' time.

The country's top youth level seek to defend their 2021 European crown. This year's UEFA U21 championship, hosted by Georgia and Romania kicks off on June 21st.
FSV Mainz 05 striker Nelson Weiper is the lone new call up to the latest incarnation of Antonio di Salvo's Germany U21 national team. The 18-year-old has impressed off FSV trainer Bo Svensson's bench this season, netting two league goals amid his nine substitute appearances. Weiper is one of 26 players headed to the team's training camp in northern Italy. The roster will be reduced by three on June 14th.

As part of the German FA's deliberate plan to give developmental prospects who have already earned senior national team call-ups further practice with the U21s, three players who have spent time in Bundestrainer Hansi Flick's camp will work with di Salvo this time. Youssoufa Moukoko (Dortmund), Josha Vagnoman (VfB Stuttgart), and Kevin Schade (FC Brentford) will represent the country's highest youth level.

Three players who could have worked under di Salvo's aegis are nevertheless working with Flick this time. The Bundestrainer opted to keep Florian Wirth (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Malick Thiaw (AC Milan), and Jamal Musiala (FC Bayern München) are part of Flick's latest selection.

Felix Nmecha (VfL Wolfsburg), Jonathan Burkardt (FSV Mainz 05), Armel Bella Kotchap (Southhampton), Noah Katterbach (FC Köln), and Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund) are regrettably unavailable to either coach due to injury.

"We are happy to have the three guys back in the team as important pillars for the European Championships," Di Salvo said of the trio that Flick left him, "And we're also very excited about Nelson Weiper. He's developed excellently for both the junior and senior Mainz squads."

The full squad:

Noah Atubolu, SC Freiburg
Christian Früchtl, Austria Wien
Nico Mantl, RB Salzburg

Josha Vagnoman, VfB Stuttgart
Maximilian Bauer, FC Augsburg
Jordan Beyer, Burnley
Kilian Fischer, VfL Wolfsburg
Yann Aurel Bisseck, AGF Aarhus
Marton Dardai, Hertha BSC
Luca Netz, Borussia Mönchengladbach
Henning Matriciani, FC Schalke 04
Kenneth Schmidt, SC Freiburg

Angelo Stiller, TSG 1899 Hoffenheim
Yannik Keitel, SC Freiburg
Tom Krauß, RB Leipzig
Ansgar Knauff, Eintracht Frankfurt
Eric Martel, FC Köln
Patrick Osterhage, VfL Bochum
Denis Huseinbasic, FC Köln
Noah Weißhaupt, SC Freiburg
Faride Alidou, Eintracht Frankfurt
Jan Thielmann, FC Köln
Youssoufa Moukoko, Borussia Dortmund
Kevin Schade, Brentford FC
Jessic Ngankam, Hertha BSC
Nelson Weiper, FSV Mainz 05

Euro 2024

Bundesliga End of Season Awards

Long reads

Exclusive interviews

Team News