Bundesliga News

Sheraldo Becker is the engine that keeps Union running

By Jonathan Dicks   @Jonathan_Dicks

Nobody could have predicted that Sheraldo Becker would be the Bundesliga's leading marksman and carry the league's best team through Matchday 7. But, that's exactly what's happened.
Sheraldo Becker.
Sheraldo Becker.Photo: 1. FC Union Berlin
Taiwo Awoniyi was supposedly the perfect partner for Sheraldo Becker up front in another Union Berlin triumphant campaign last season. After Awoniyi's summer departure, it was difficult to see a strike-partnership that could produce better results for the overachievers in the capital.

But, with Jordan by his side, Becker has upped his game to another level. He's atop the scoring charts with six goals through seven games and has added four assists for Urs Fischer's side, who are unthinkably leading the Bundesliga. Six goals with an xG (expected goals) of 1.44! That is serious efficiency.

With Jordan playing in a true no. 9 role, Becker now has more space to roam freely in a front two. The 27-year-old continues to be dangerous with both feet and is consistently feeding Jordan opportunities when he isn't scoring himself. Becker has averaged an absurd 2.80 passes into the penalty area per 90 minutes thus far.

Becker again ranks as one of the fastest players in the top flight at 35.97 km/hr and covers 10.22 km per game, which is an extremely high figure for a forward. With this motor, he is able to consistently pull apart helpless opposing defenses on the counter with his progressive play.

After nearly moving away from the capital club a year ago, Becker signed a contract extension in June that keeps him in Berlin until 2025. It's looking like another sensational season for Union, but time will tell if Becker and his team can keep up this efficiency and stay atop the Bundesliga.

More about Sheraldo Becker

More about Union Berlin

Bundesliga News

Fantasy Football

Tactics Talk

Editor's picks


Turn back time

DFB Pokal - Leverkusen - PaderbornDFB Pokal - Saarbrücken - FrankfurtDFB Pokal - Hertha BSC - HSVDFB Pokal - Stuttgart - Dortmund