By Peter Weis@PeterVicey

Eitschberger and Morgalla earn first call-ups to U21s

The latest incarnation of Germany U21 head-coach Antonio di Salvo's DFB Juniors includes two new first time call-ups.
The most notable player not making newly-appointed Bundestrainer Julian Nagelsmann's first German national team squad today was Borussia Dortmund attacker Karim Adeyemi. In a statement accompanying the release of the German U21 squad, head-coach Antonio di Salvo revealed that, after close consultation with Nagelsmann, the DFB coaching team believed the four-times-capped 21-year-old would do better to spend the coming international break with the country's highest youth level.

"Karim didn't hesitate for a second," di Salvo noted in a statement accompanying the release of his roster, "He seized the chance to not only gain playing practice and self-confidence with us, but also to take responsibility and go forward. This attitude impressed me."

The German U21s will contest two qualifying fixtures for the coming 2025 UEFA U21 European Championship over the coming international break. Di Salvo's charges will travel to Sofia to play the Bulgarian U21s next Friday, then head to Tel Aviv for a match against the Israelis four days later.

Luca Netz (Borussia Mönchengladbach) and Marton Dardai (Hertha BSC) have been recalled to the squad after missing out last time. Two debutants - defenders Julian Eitschberger (Hertha, on loan at Hallescher FC) and Leandro Morgalla (RB Salzburg) - have been called up for the first time.

Adeyemi takes the place of Mainz striker Nelson Weiper, who underwent arthroscopic knee surgery last month. Köln midfielder Eric Martel also had to pass with Achilles tendon issues.

The full squad:

Noah Atubolu, SC Freiburg
Jonas Urbuig, SpVgg Greuther Fürth
Felix Gebhardt, SSV Jahn Regensburg

Jamil Siebert, Fortuna Düsseldorf
Nathaniel Brown, 1. FC Nürnberg
Julian Eitschberger, Hertha BSC
Marton Dardai, Hertha BSC
Bright Arrey-Mbi, Hannover 96
Colin Kleine-Bekel, Holstein Kiel
Leandro Morgalla, RB Salzburg
Kenneth Schmidt, SC Freiburg
Luca Netz, Borussia Mönchengladbach

Maximilian Beier, TSG 1899 Hoffenheim
Tim Breithaupt, FC Augsburg
Brajan Gruda, FSV Mainz 05
Ansgar Knauff, Eintracht Frankfurt
Merlin Röhl, SC Freiburg
Paul Nebel, Karlsruhe SC
Youssoufa Moukoko, Borussia Dortmund
Karim Adeyemi, Borussia Dortmund
Robert Wagner, SpVgg Greuther Fürth
Tim Lemperle, SpVgg Greuther Fürth
Nick Woltemade, Werder Bremen

Euro 2024

Bundesliga End of Season Awards

Long reads

Exclusive interviews

Team News

European Championship - Germany - Hungary