Bundesliga News

Germany: DFB Pokal
1 - 0
(0 - 0)(0 - 0)
K. Kone (120)

Koné arrives on cue as Gladbach go through to the quarter finals

By Ultan Corcoran   @UltanCorcoran

In what was a close-fought and tense Pokal clash, Manu Koné struck in the 120th minute of extra-time to send Gerardo Seoane's Fohlen-elf into the next round on a 1-0 scoreline.
Manu Koné.
Manu Koné.Photo: Borussia Mönchengladbach
A rain-soaked Borussia Park provided the setting where Gladbach narrowly edge the opening half of the game. Kramer’s 7th minute strike sailed wide while Aster Vranckx tested Moritz Nicolas moments later. Aside from that, chances were at a minimum for both teams. Arnold’s scissor-like tackle on Rocco Reitz made for the only point of note which resulted in a yellow card. Wolfsburg’s Rogerio was also forced ashore with a thigh injury of some form.

Gladbach took the reigns again after the interval. Honorat’s corner was smashed goalwards by Weigl but met the superior force of Casteels. It appeared like Wolfsburg had completed a smash and grab in the dying members of normal time. A swift 86th minute attack afforded Baku space to slip in Tiago Tomas. The Portuguese forward clipped the ball over Nicolas, but celebrations were cut short by the offside flag. Jonas Wind had a final chance in injury time to win it but dragged wide in an off-the-boil night for the striker.

With extra-time following a rather dull 90 minutes, the affair appeared as if it was going to play out in a similar manner until penalties. However, there would be a twist in the tale on 120 minutes – the marauding Ngoumou fed Neuhaus who turned Zesiger and lobbed for the six-yard-box. Manu Koné raced in to nod beyond Casteels and send the Fohlen fans into delight. Nico Kovac cut a bewildered figure in Wolfsburg technical area at full time as his side bow out.

More about the match

More about the teams

Bundesliga News

Fantasy Football

Tactics Talk

Editor's picks


Turn back time

Bundesliga - Bochum - RB LeipzigBundesliga - Darmstadt - AugsburgBundesliga - Heidenheim - FrankfurtBundesliga - Mainz 05 - GladbachBundesliga - Union Berlin - Dortmund