By Rune Gjerulff@runegjerulff

Germany's best young players have been named

The German Football Association have announced the young German starlets who will be handed this year's Fritz Walter Medals.
Since 2005, the German Football Association has each year been handing out Fritz Walter Medals to the young talents that according to the DFB shine brightest in the country. The name of the award is in honor of Fritz Walter who captained Germany to World Cup glory in 1954.

Star players such as Manuel Neuer, Jerome Boateng and Julian Draxler have previously been handed the award, which since 2015 has been divided into two age groups for male players - under-17 and under-19 - while the female players compete in one age group. In each of these categories, the medals are further divided into gold, silver and bronze with their worth logically in that order.

This year, Bayer 04 Leverkusen starlet Kai Havertz will receive the gold medal in the under-19 category, Hertha BSC's Arne Maier will be handed the silver medal while Hamburger SV's Manuel Wintheimer takes the bronze medal.

In the under-17 category, FC Köln's Noah Katterbach will be honored with the gold medal, Bayern München's Oliver Meier Batista will get the silver medal while the bronze medal will go to Borussia Dortmund's Luca Unbehaun.

This year's female winners are Tanja Pawollek, FFC Frankfurt (gold), Sophia Kleinherne, FFC Frankfurt (silver), and Lena Sophie Oberdorf, SGS Essen (bronze).

The players will receive their medals on September 9 before Germany's friendly against Peru.

Read more about the previous Fritz Walter Medal winners here.

Bundesliga news

Match days

Long reads

Exclusive interviews

Team News

Bundesliga - Bremen - StuttgartBundesliga - Dortmund - LeverkusenBundesliga - Freiburg - Mainz 05