FC Bayern - Augsburg

Germany: Bundesliga
FC Bayern J. Gouweleeuw (9), S. Gnabry (23), J. Kimmich (33), K. Coman (43), R. Lewandowski (90)
Allianz Arena5-2
AugsburgX D. Caligiuri (Pen. 25), A. Hahn (67), F. Niederlechner (72)

Lewan'goal'ski dethrones Gerd Müller, creates history in the final minute of the season

By Akhil Fisher

It took Robert Lewandowski 90 minutes against Augsburg in the final match of the season to usurp Gerd Müller’s historic record In the most discernable manner – a tap-in.

Robert Lewandowski.
Robert Lewandowski.Photo: Sven Mandel / CC-BY-SA-4.0

Lewandowski has officially etched his name as Bundesliga’s most prolific single-season scorer with 41 goals, pushing Gerd Müller’s 1972 record of 40 goals to the second place.

The Polish marksman did one better with a historic tap-in, something that is not said often.

After his two goals against SC Freiburg on the previous matchday drew him level with the 49-year-old Bundesliga record, Lewandowski needed just one more to create history.

He had to wait for full ninety minutes at the Allianz Arena against a resolute Augsburg side who got back two goals in the 4-2 loss after going four down in the first half.

The striker was repeatedly denied a goal, but nonetheless, his moment of glory arrived in the final minute of the season. Leroy Sane struck a low drive which was stopped by Rafał Gikiewicz. The Bayern legend stepped in round him off with a simple touch in the back of the net.

A story for the ages as Lewan'goal'ski carved his name in history books with the last kick of the game in the final match of the season.

He ends the 2020/21 season with 41 goals in 29 Bundesliga games as opposed to Müller’s 40 goals in 34 matches in the 1971/72 season – culminating his most memorable season so far with a better goal ratio than Der Bomber.

FC Bayern
1Manuel Neuer (C)
5Benjamin Pavard
17Jérôme Boateng ↩61
21Lucas Hernández
19Alphonso Davies
6Joshua Kimmich
27David Alaba ↩73
29Kingsley Coman ↩61
25Thomas Müller ↩72
7Serge Gnabry ↩61
9Robert Lewandowski
35Alexander Nübel
10Leroy Sané ↪61
13E. Choupo-Moting ↪72
4Niklas Süle
20Bouna Sarr
8Javi Martínez ↪61
22Marc Roca
24Corentin Tolisso ↪73
42Jamal Musiala ↪61
1Rafał Gikiewicz
2Robert Gumny
6Jeffrey Gouweleeuw (C)
36Reece Oxford
3Mads Pedersen ↩46
18László Bénes
25Carlos Gruezo
28André Hahn ↩87
23Marco Richter ↩67
20Daniel CaligiuriX ↩46
7Florian Niederlechner ↩76
40Tomáš Koubek
11Michael Gregoritsch
27Alfreð Finnbogason ↪76
45Lukas Petkov ↪87
5Marek Suchý ↪46
32Raphael Framberger ↪46
8Rani Khedira
24Fredrik Jensen ↪67
33Tobias Strobl

Bundesliga News

Fantasy Football

Tactics Talk

Editor's picks


Turn back time